There are 6 different types of Creative Commons licenses. They are as follows:

attribution-by Attribution

The core condition that applies to all six of the CC licences is the requirement that the author of the work is attributed – the Attribution condition. Essentially, whenever a work is copied or redistributed under a Creative Commons licence, the original creator (and any other nominated parties) must be credited and the source linked to. It is for this reason that every image on SlideBot shows a reference to the source of each image in one of the corners of each slide.


Lets others copy, distribute, display, and perform your work – and derivative works based upon it – but for noncommercial purposes only.

noderivatives-ndNo Derivative Works

Lets others copy, distribute, display, and perform only verbatim copies of your work, not derivative works based upon it.

share-alike-saShare Alike 

Lets others distribute derivative works only under a license identical to the license that governs your work.

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 7.36.17 PMPublic Domain Dedication (CC0)

The copyright holder, waives their interest in their work and place the work as completely as possible in the public domain so others may freely exploit and use the work without restriction under copyright or database law.

Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 7.35.46 PM
Public Domain Work

Works, or aspects of copyrighted works, which copyright law does not protect. Typically, works become part of the public domain because their term of protection under copyright law expired, the owner failed to follow certain required formalities, or the works are not eligible for copyright protection.